Affordable Access

Moneda și circulația monetară în Principatul Moldovei (1711-1859)

  • Arcuş-Jantovan, Elena
Publication Date
Jul 21, 2020
External links


The reconstruction of the circulation of the monetary circulation coin in the Principality of Moldova is not a simple operation; on the contrary, a number of difficulties have to be overcome, in particular the absence of a sometimes unprecedented synthesis, as well as the dispersion of monetary documents and discoveries. The chronological period is between 1711 and 1859, 1711 represents the introduction of the phanariot regime in Moldova, and 1859 is the year of the union of Moldova with the rest of the romanian territory. The absence of a national coin allowed the penetration of foreign coins. Foreign powers have left a significant amount of coins, and that they have been removed from circulation was not that simple. In the 18th century, a large number of coins circulated throughout the Principality, including: ducat, zloty, thaler, ruble, altın, akçe, altmışlık, para, kreutzer, ort, colonnatoa, escudo, Sadagura coin etc., and in the 19th century the number of types of coins grew considerably, among them ducat, kuruș, fındık, yirmilik, para, napoléon, thaler, florin zecchino, ruble, kopeck, zwanzinger, etc. Over the entire period the rulers had no right to issue their own currency. The devaluation and the fluctuation of monetary values caused by speculation in the turkish period contributed to the turmoil in monetary circulation. The monetary stock in circulation before the 1867 law (when was created the first romanian monetary system), could not meet the needs of a developing economy. The research of the monetary circulation in Moldova from 1711-1859 will contribute to a better understanding of the history of this territory, as well as of its international relations.

Report this publication


Seen <100 times