Affordable Access

Classification, natural history, and evolution of the Epiphloeinae (Coleoptera: Cleridae). Part I. The genera of Epiphloeinae.

Insecta Mundi
Publication Date
  • Cleridae
  • Checkered Beetles
  • Epiphloeinae
  • Generic Synopsis
  • Design


The subfamily Epiphloeinae is defined to include fourteen genera as follows: Epiphloeus Spinola; Pilosirus, new genus; Plocamocera Spinola; Iontoclerus, new genus; Arenaria, new genus; lchnea Laporte; Diapromeces, new genus; Pyticeroides Kuwert; Ellipotoma Spinola; Katamyurus, new genus; Megatrachys, new genus; Madoniella Pic; Hapsidopteris, new genus; and Teutonia, new genus. The following type-species are described: Pilosirus brunoi, new species; Arenaria chiapas, new species; Diapromeces aclydis, new species; Katamyurus paxillus, new species; Megatrachys paniculus, new species; Hapsidopteris diastenus, new species; and Teutonia nova, new species. Enoplium humerale Klug is designated as the typespecies of Iontoclerus. The genus Madoniella is removed from the subfamily Korynetinae and is declared a senior synonym of Phlogistosternus Wolcott. Neichnea is synonymized with Pyticeroides. This treatise includes a key to the genera of Epiphloeinae, descriptions of the genera and new type-species, and distribution map for each genus.

There are no comments yet on this publication. Be the first to share your thoughts.