Affordable Access

A simplified laminin nomenclature

Publication Date
  • Basement Membrane
  • Laminin-Type Domains
  • Laminin
  • Nomenclature
  • Medicine And Health Sciences
  • Biology


A simplification of the laminin nomenclature is presented. Laminins are multidomain heterotrimers composed of alpha, beta and gamma chains. Previously, laminin trimers were numbered with Arabic numerals in the order discovered, that is laminins-1 to -5. We introduce a new identification system for a trimer using three Arabic numerals, based on the alpha, beta and gamma chain numbers. For example, the laminin with the chain composition alpha 5 beta 1 gamma 1 is termed laminin-511, and not laminin-10. The current practice is also to mix two overlapping domain and module nomenclatures. Instead of the older Roman numeral nomenclature and mixed nomenclature, all modules are now called domains. Some domains are renamed or renumbered. Laminin epidermal growth factor-like (LE) domains are renumbered starting at the N-termini, to be consistent with general protein nomenclature. Domain IVb of alpha chains is named laminin 4a (L4a), domain IVa of alpha chains is named L4b, domain IV of gamma chains is named L4, and domain IV of beta chains is named laminin four (LF). The two coiled-coil domains I and II are now considered one laminin coiled-coil domain (LCC). The interruption in the coiled-coil of 13 chains is named laminin beta-knob (L beta) domain. The chain origin of a domain is specified by the chain nomenclature, such as alpha IL4a. The abbreviation LM is suggested for laminin. Otherwise, the nomenclature remains unaltered.

There are no comments yet on this publication. Be the first to share your thoughts.


Seen <100 times