Affordable Access

Arguments for a Better World: Essays in Honor of Amartya Sen: Volume I: Ethics, Welfare, and Measurement and Volume II: Society, Institutions, and Development

  • Economics
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Social Sciences


Amartya Sen has made deep and lasting contributions to the academic disciplines of economics, philosophy, and the social sciences more broadly. He has engaged in policy dialogue and public debate, advancing the cause of a human development focused policy agenda, and a tolerant and democratic polity. This argumentative Indian has made the case for the poorest of the poor, and for plurality in cultural perspective. It is not surprising that he has won the highest awards, ranging from the Nobel Prize in Economics to the Bharat Ratna, India's highest civilian honor. This public recognition has gone hand in hand with the affection and admiration that Amartya's friends and students hold for him. This volume of essays, written in honor of his 75th birthday by his students and peers, covers the range of contributions that Sen has made to knowledge. They are written by some of the world's leading economists, philosophers and social scientists, and address topics such as ethics, welfare economics, poverty, gender, human development, society and politics. Contributors include: Bina Agarwal, Isher Ahluwalia, Montek S Ahluwalia, Ingela Alger, Sabina Alkire, Paul Anand, Sudhir Anand, Kwame Anthony Appiah, Muhammad Asali, Department of Economics, A. B. Atkinson, Amiya Kumar Bagchi, Pranab Bardhan, Lourdes Beneria, Francois Bourguignon, Sugata Bose, Walter Bossert, John Broome, Satya R. Chakravarty, Lincoln C. Chen, Martha Alter Chen, Kanchan Chopra, Rajat Deb, Simon Dietz, Bhaskar Dutta, James E. Foster, Sakiko Fukuda-Parr, Wulf Gaertner, Indranil K. Ghosh, Jonathan Glover, Peter Hammond, Christopher Handy, Christopher Harris, Cameron Hepburn, Jane Humphries, Rizwanul Islam, Satish K. Jain, Ayesha Jalal, Mary Kaldor, Sunil Khilnani, Stephan Klasen, Jocelyn Kynch, Isaac Levi, Oliver Linton, Enrica Chiappero Martinetti, Kirsty McNay, Martha C. Nussbaum, Siddiqur R. Osmani, Elinor Ostrom, Prasanta K. Pattanaik, Edmund S. Phelps, Mozaffar Qizilbash, Gustav Ranis, Martin Ravallion, Sanjay G. Reddy, Kevin Roberts, Ingrid Robeyns, Maurice Salles, Emma Samman, Cristina Santos, Thomas. M. Scanlon, Arjun Sengupta, Tae Kun Seo, Anthony Shorrocks, Ronald Smith, Rehman Sobhan, Robert M. Solow, Nicholas Stern, Frances Stewart, Joseph E. Stiglitz, S. Subramanian, Kotaro Suzumura, Alain Trannoy, Ashutosh Varshney, Sujata Visaria, Guanghua Wan, Jorgen W. Weibull, John A. Weymark, and Yongsheng Xu. Contributors to this volume - Bina Agarwal, Institute of Economic Growth, University of Delhi Isher Ahluwalia, Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations Montek S Ahluwalia, Planning Commission, Government of India Ingela Alger, Carleton University Sabina Alkire, University of Oxford Paul Anand, Open University Sudhir Anand, University of Oxford Kwame Anthony Appiah, Princeton University Muhammad Asali, Department of Economics, Columbia University A. B. Atkinson, University of Oxford Amiya Kumar Bagchi, Institute of Development Studies Kolkata Pranab Bardhan, University of California, Berkeley Lourdes Beneria, Cornell University Francois Bourguignon, Paris School of Economics Sugata Bose, Harvard University Walter Bossert, Universite de Montreal John Broome, University of Oxford Satya R. Chakravarty, Indian Statistical Institute Lincoln C. Chen, President, China Medical Board Martha Alter Chen, Harvard University Kanchan Chopra, Institute of Economic Growth, University of Delhi Rajat Deb, Southern Methodist University Simon Dietz, London School of Economics and Political Science Bhaskar Dutta, University of Warwick James E. Foster, Vanderbilt University Sakiko Fukuda-Parr, Professor of International Affairs, The New School Wulf Gaertner, University of Osnabruck Indranil K. Ghosh, Winston Salem State University Jonathan Glover, Kings College London Peter Hammond, University of Warwick Christopher Handy, Cornell University Christopher Harris, University of Cambridge Cameron Hepburn, University of Oxford Jane Humphries, University of Oxford Rizwanul Islam, International Labour Office, Geneva Satish K. Jain, Jawaharlal Nehru University Ayesha Jalal, Tufts University Mary Kaldor, London School of Economics and Political Science Sunil Khilnani, Johns Hopkins University Stephan Klasen, University of Gottingen Jocelyn Kynch, The University of Wales Isaac Levi, Columbia University Oliver Linton, London School of Economics and Political Science Enrica Chiappero Martinetti, University of Pavia Kirsty McNay, Martha C. Nussbaum, University of Chicago Law School Siddiqur R. Osmani, University of Ulster Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University, Bloomington Prasanta K. Pattanaik, University of California, Riverside Edmund S. Phelps, Columbia University Mozaffar Qizilbash, University of York Gustav Ranis, Yale University Martin Ravallion, World Bank Sanjay G. Reddy, Department of Economics, Barnard College, and Institute for Social and Economic Research and Policy, Columbia University Kevin Roberts, University of Oxford Ingrid Robeyns, Radboud University Nijmegen Maurice Salles, Universite de Caen Emma Samman, Queen Elizabeth House, University of Oxford Cristina Santos, University College London Thomas. M. Scanlon, Harvard University Arjun Sengupta, Indian Parliament Tae Kun Seo, Southern Methodist University Anthony Shorrocks, UNU-WIDER Ronald Smith, Birkbeck College Rehman Sobhan, Centre for Policy Dialogue Bangladesh Robert M. Solow, MIT Nicholas Stern, London School of Economics and Political Science Frances Stewart, Queen Elizabeth House, University of Oxford Joseph E. Stiglitz, Columbia University S. Subramanian, Madras Institute of Development Studies Kotaro Suzumura, Hitotsubashi University Alain Trannoy, L'Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales Ashutosh Varshney, University of Michigan Sujata Visaria, Department of Economics, Boston University Guanghua Wan, UNU-WIDER Jorgen W. Weibull, Stockholm School of Economics John A. Weymark, Vanderbilt University Yongsheng Xu, Georgetown State University

There are no comments yet on this publication. Be the first to share your thoughts.


Seen <100 times